YY aka Yenyi
3 min readMay 28, 2017

Spoke to Lewis and Georgia

It was so good to see my friend Lewis. We talked about Taiwan and Scotland, from the moment we saw each other at the door of Mono, which is a cool venue for food and beer and music as well, we were LOLing the whole time. Lewis is a brilliant man, I asked about his been interested in doing. So he had done a residency at Market gallery, knows Rachel Mcclean, whose old studio was right next to his and she also did a residency in Market gallery back in the years.

He seems very enjoying his work, at CCA as a projectionist and installationist. I think the best gift in life is that you enjoy the work that you do, people you do it with, and space you do it at. He’s got it all. No wonder he always seems very happy.

The best part was when I asked him about his personal creative project. He had done some video works, he is doing experimental criticism and art writing. I was so excited to hear that.

Experimental criticism is to using different ways, mostly fictional approach to critic artworks, or any subjects. He did a criticism on his friend, Ross, solo photography show at the summer hall. Ross’s photography installation was a journey he took to go to a festival of death in Mexico. It’s quite a anthropological photography he took and he asks many writers or his friend to write about his exhibition.

Lewis was so funny to ask him if he had gotten some diarrhea during the trip. However R, in the conversation mostly talked about how adventurous and cool people he met when he was in Mexico. I told Lewis in Chinese, in the literary field, we have a saying for that as 獵奇(hunting for strange things) I also later clarify hat it wasn’t about the Netflix film and we laughed about five minutes while making all the other side jokes and still able to get back to the topic, to which I was very impressed by both of us. Ross was trying to illustrate how the idea of death is being introduced along with colonialism and catholic culture being adapted and later results in a festival with different intrepretation on certain aspects of life. Apprently the closest word of 獵奇 in English might be cultural tourism.

Lewis wrote from the saint of death and to talk about how Ross, as a photographer and outsider, would never understand what really happened. Along with lots of fest and shit happened in the text. Ross got a performance artist read out his article, I guess it’s always nice to know different interpretation from other creative methods.

It was raining earlier that day, we were damp and was changing tables a lot. Mono was really busy! I had to rush to see Fergus because I was terribly late and that’s not good!

All in all, I hope I can someday be as happy as Lewis. Speaking of happiness, I really hate my Canadian English teacher, he looked me into the eyes after I expressed my distaste in family guy, he told me, “you can never be happy can you?”

I felt this as if he casts a spell on me. Weird, anyway, I hope in the future when I have children, they’d be Sagittarius or Aries.

Later Georgia came and stay with David and I, we had some good chat. I was surprised to find out Neil wanted them to be on the course so that they could interact with us. Damn, I feel I really like him, what a great tutor and mastermind!